Contact Our Wayne Office To Speak To a Former Municipal Prosecutors About Your Motor Vehicle Ticket
If you received a traffic ticket in Wayne for speeding, driving while suspended, reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident, or any other summons for a New Jersey motor vehicle violation, do not make the mistake of simply pleading guilty. Haste in handling almost any moving traffic offense can result in points, fines, suspensions, and thousands of dollars in collateral consequences (e.g. increased insurance rates). Fighting your Wayne motor vehicle summons is the only way to escape negative ramifications such as these and there is no better weapon than a skilled defense lawyer who is well acquainted with the terrain in Wayne Municipal Court.
The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has a team of lawyers who have accumulated decades of experience handling traffic violations in Wayne and in courts through Passaic County. Our collective time in practice spans over 200 years and includes considerable service as municipal and county prosecutors, as well as a long track record of success representing clients charged with traffic violations in Wayne Township. To speak to a Wayne NJ criminal attorney with the knowledge to help you, call (862) 203-4070 for a free consultation. Attorneys are available 24/7 to take your call.
Wayne New Jersey Traffic Offenses
New Jersey has a system in place to monitor the driving record of everyone motorist licensed in the state. The Motor Vehicle Commission is notified by the municipal courts when a motorist goes to court on a traffic ticket and pleads guilty or is convicted after trial. The fines you pay in Wayne Municipal Court do not put the matter to rest.
MVC adds points to a motorist’s driving record for each moving violation conviction. Moving violations are always traffic offenses and include improper passing, speeding, and reckless driving. Equipment violations and parking tickets do not count as moving violations, so no points are added to a person’s record for them. The number of points added to a driving record depends on the motor vehicle violation committed. For example, the following is a list of some of the common moving violations and the points imposed for each:
N.J.S.A. 39:4-96 – Reckless driving – 5 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-82 – Failure to keep right – 2 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-96 – Careless driving – 2 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-86 – Improper passing – 4 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-89 – Tailgating – 5 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-129 – Leaving the scene of an accident – 2 points (8 points if personal injury involved)
N.J.S.A. 39:4-130 – Failing to yield to emergency vehicles – 2 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-81 – Failure to observe a traffic light or other control device – 2 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-98 – Speeding — 1 to 14 mph over the limit–2 points; 15-29 mph over the limit– 4 points; 30 mph or more over the limit – 5 points
The state has the power to suspend your license if you accumulate too many points. This is because driving is a privilege as opposed to a right, and a privilege can be taken away. If you acquire 12 or more points on your record within a three-year period, MVC may suspend your driver’s license. Between six and 12 points will result in MVC imposing a $150 surcharge on you for the first six points and a $25 surcharge for each additional point. Your license will be suspended if you do not pay the surcharge.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in Wayne
If you are caught driving while your license is suspended for a DUI or DWI conviction, the consequences are severe. Even if it is only your first offense, incarceration is mandatory. Unless this enhancement applies, the standard penalties for violating N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 (“penalties for driving while license suspended”) include: (1) a fine of $500 and up to 6 months of additional suspension for a first offense; (2) a $750 fine, six-month revocation, and 1-5 days in the county jail for a second offense; and (3) a $1,000 fine, six-month license suspension and 10 days in jail for a third or subsequent offense.
Wayne Driving Without Insurance Ticket
A conviction for driving without insurance in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2 carries with it a one-year suspension of your driver’s license. A second offense results in the revocation of your license for two years. If you are caught driving during the suspension periods, the penalties are substantial fines, surcharges, and further suspension of your driver’s license for another six months. A second offense for driving without insurance carries a mandatory 14-day jail sentence, up to a $5,000 fine, and a two-year license suspension.
Wayne Traffic Offense Defense Attorney
The loss of your driving privileges can keep you from getting to work and supporting your family. Don’t let a Wayne motor vehicle charge jeopardize your career and family — make sure you mount an effective defense with a talented lawyer so that points, additional suspensions, and other ramifications are avoided. The defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall give you the advantage you need to fight your traffic tickets. If you have questions or want to review your options with one of our outstanding highly experienced attorneys, call our Wayne Office at (862) 203-4070 for a free consultation.