The drug most frequently encountered in the courts throughout Passaic County is marijuana. Charges involving marijuana are common in Wayne, Paterson, Clifton, as well as all of the other courts, including the Passaic County Superior Court. If you were arrested for intent to distribute marijuana, possession of heroin, possession of cocaine with the intent to distribute, possession of cocaine or even simple possession of marijuana under 50 grams, our lawyers are highly versed in the defense of these charges. An attorney at our firm, The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall is available immediately to help you plot a course for avoiding distribution or possession penalties for marijuana. An attorney is ready now at 862-203-4070 to provide a free consultation.
Possession of Marijuana with the Intent to Distribute Lawyers in Paterson NJ
Marijuana Law Explained
The marijuana possession and distribution laws and penalties in New Jersey vary according to certain factors and circumstances:
- Possession: The possession law is set forth at N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10 and provides for different penalties depending on the weight of marijuana involved. Possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana is classified as a disorderly persons offense and can be punished by a sentence of up to six (6) months in the county jail, a fine of up to $1,000, a $500 Drug Enforcement Reduction penalty, suspension of your driver’s license for up to two (2) years, and mandatory drug counseling. Someone possessing more than 50 grams of marijuana is exposed to a fourth (4th) degree felony involving up to 18 months in jail and a fine that can reach $25,000.
- Distribution: A conviction of distribution or selling of marijuana carries severe penalties under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5. Intent to distribute marijuana in an amount less than one (1) ounce is classified as a fourth degree felony carrying up to 1.5 years in prison and fines as high as $25,000. Intent to distribute marijuana in an amount of at least one (1) ounce but less than five (5) pounds is classified as a third degree felony, bringing penalties of up to five (5) years in jail and a fine of up to $35,000. A conviction for distributing marijuana in an amount of at least five (5) pounds but less than 25 pounds is a second degree felony, punishable by a sentence of up to ten (10) years in jail and a fine of up to $150,000. Selling marijuana with a weight of 25 pounds or greater is a first degree felony, bringing a possible jail sentence of up to 20 years and a steep fine that can reach as high as $300,000.
- Special Penalties: In order to protect the public interest, New Jersey lawmakers have imposed more severe sentencing guidelines for the possession and/or distribution of marijuana in certain specially protected areas. Possession of marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school (i.e. N.J.S.A. 2C:35-7) can lead to enhanced penalties, including but not limited to a mandatory community service requirement of at least 100 hours. An individual convicted of intent to distribute marijuana in a school zone, on a school bus, or in a public park (i.e. N.J.S.A. 2C:35-7.1) faces particularly harsh sentencing, including added jail time and/or additional fines. If an individual is convicted of intent to distribute marijuana to a minor or pregnant female, the sentence can be doubled.
Clifton NJ Marijuana Distribution Defense Lawyers
If you have been charged with or arrested for a marijuana offense, you need to be proactive to insure that your future is not negatively impacted. To this end, the attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are here to examine the facts of your case and prepare a comprehensive defense strategy. In drug crime cases, the manner in which the law enforcement officers handled the investigation must be carefully scrutinized to ensure that your constitutional rights were not violated. Our staff of lawyers includes former county and municipal prosecutors, so we are intimately familiar with these kinds of cases. We know how to effectively challenge the evidence gathered and the procedures undertaken in drug cases. We have litigated countless marijuana cases throughout Passaic County, in towns like Little Falls, Wanaque, Paterson, Passaic City, Hawthorne, Woodland Park and North Haledon, giving us the know how needed to help you mount an effective and aggressive defense. If you or a loved one has been arrested for or charged with possession or distribution of marijuana in Passaic County, contact us at 862-203-4070 for a free initial consultation.