Clifton NJ Harassment Lawyers
A criminal charge for harassment is obviously something that is serious. A conviction for harassment, like other crimes, results in a record, fines and penalties, and possible jail and/or probation. While these potential penalties are significant, the truth is that harassment is an offense making the selection of a skilled defense lawyer crucially important. The trial attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall are experienced in harassment cases, with years of background and experience. If you or a loved one has been arrested for or charged with criminal harassment, stalking, marijuana possession, terroristic threats, simple assault or disorderly conduct please contact the Law Offices of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver for a free initial consultation at 862-203-4070. We have extensive experience representing clients charged in towns like Little Falls, Hawthorne, Wayne, Clifton, North Haledon, Woodland Park, Passaic City and Paterson.
Harassment Attorneys in Little Falls NJ
Harassment Law – N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4
Harassment in New Jersey is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4, which provides, in pertinent part, that:
Except as provided in subsection e., a person commits a petty disorderly persons offense if, with purpose to harass another, he or she:
a. Makes, or causes to be made, a communication or communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, or in offensively coarse language, or any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm;
b. Subjects another to striking, kicking, shoving, or other offensive touching, or threatens to do so; or
c. Engages in any other course of alarming conduct or of repeatedly committed acts with purpose to alarm or seriously annoy such other person.
e. A person commits a crime of the fourth degree if, in committing an offense under this section, he or she was serving a term of imprisonment or was on parole or probation as the result of a conviction of any indictable offense.
Intent is a necessary element for a harassment charge in New Jersey. This means that the prosecution must demonstrate that the accused made the communication for the purpose of harassing the alleged victim. Additionally, the communication must disturb, irritate, or bother the victim to a significant degree. Harassment is typically classified as a disorderly persons offense, punishable by a sentence of up to 30 days in jail, a fine of up to $500, assessments to the Victims of Crime Compensation Board and the Safe Neighborhood Services Fund of $125, and possible suspension of your driver’s license for up to two (2) years. A charge of harassment can also, however, be classified as a fourth degree felony, with an enhanced sentence of up to 18 months in prison, if the accused was on probation or parole for a criminal violation at the time of the offense.
West Milford NJ Harassment Defense Attorneys
The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver possess the skill and finesse needed to insure that you reach the best outcome in your harassment case. In point of fact, several of our lawyers have not only defended this charge many many times but also witnessed how the system works as former county and municipal prosecutors. If you or a loved one has been arrested for or charged with harassment, a lawyer on our staff is prepared to fight for you. An attorney at the Law Offices of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver is available now for a free case evaluation at 862-203-4070.