Passaic County Firearm, and Weapons Offense Attorneys
In Passaic County, you can be charged with a weapons offense just by having certain illegal weapons in your possession. You can also face this type of offense for possession of an unregistered weapon or if you possess a weapon with the intention of using it for an illegal activity (a.k.a. unlawful purpose). If you are convicted on weapons charges, you may face mandatory prison time with a period of parole ineligibility, especially if the offense involves an illegal handgun. Our lawyers represent clients involved in all sorts of weapon cases in Passaic County, including:
- Possession for an unlawful purpose
- Possession without a permit
- Unlawful possession of a weapon
- Possession of an illegal weapon
- Certain persons prohibited from possessing a weapon
- Possession of a weapon during the commission of a crime
Strict Weapon Laws in New Jersey
Penalties are harsh if you are convicted of illegally possessing a handgun or another weapon in Clifton, Wayne, Paterson, Passaic City, Hawthorne, Pompton Lakes or anywhere else in Passaic County. The range of jail exposure is 10-20 years for a First Degree, 5-10 years for a Second Degree, 0-5 years for a Third Degree and 0-18 months for a Fourth Degree. Additionally, under the Graves Act, a defendant who is convicted of possessing a firearm without a permit, faces a mandatory minimum permit of prison of 3 years absent a waiver.
Experienced Weapons Defense Lawyers in Paterson NJ
Despite New Jersey’s tough weapon offense laws, if you are charged with a weapons offense in Passaic County, you are still entitled to due process of the law. With former prosecuting attorneys on our senior defense team, we have an added perspective in defending clients against many criminal charges. If you were arrested in West Milford, Clifton, Paterson, Passaic or some other municipality in the county, the attorneys at the Law Offices of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver possess the knowledge and muscle to assist you. You can reach our office at 862-203-4070 to speak to a lawyer by telephone or to schedule a free initial consultation.